top of page
Search

Creating the perfect base for natural loving babes!

Updated: Mar 16, 2020




Nothing is more overlooked than base makeup. Creating the perfect base is one of the trickiest and skill testing applications you can do.

I don't know about you, but all I seem to see these days is the slap it on effect... personally I think less is best! I understand we all have imperfections whether it be dark circles, pigmented skin or even breakouts, BUT! It certainly doesn't mean you have to shovel the foundation on. Believe it or not, a good skin care regime is the fundamental part of a good base makeup, without this your makeup will cake, slide off, show off patchy areas and possibly even oxidise.


What does oxidise mean? Some of you may have noticed but not have been aware that your foundation is one colour to begin, then two hours later you're a couple of shades darker? This is called oxidation. Just like fruit you're starting to turn an odd colour... oh dear!

Unfortunately there is no definitive cause for this, however some of the causes to be aware of are, personal chemical imbalance, oily skin, poor skin care, using sun cream before your foundation (even though you should!), THE AIR! Or hair products such as hairspray...


Skin care tips- Heavy creams can be a culprit behind oxidized foundation by leaving too much moisture on the skin and/or encouraging your skin to produce more oil. If your T-zone is truly oily, then you can probably get away without any moisturizer there—or at least switching to a hydrating serum or lightweight oil-free lotion (with something more nourishing on your cheeks).


Additionally, use silci primers (silicone based) to create a barrier between you and your foundation. Smash Box photo ready is a win for me personally.

Furthermore, test foundations before you buy and allow for two hours on your face to make a decision. Don't feel pressured into buying straight away, this is your face an makeup is too pricey to make mistakes! If you're unfortunately one of those people whos makeup oxidises no matter which foundation they use, perhaps try buying a shade of two lighter - scary territory as I wouldn't recommend this usually but this may be your soloution!

Furthermore remember to set with an oil and paraben free setting spray - Urban Decay 'De- Slick' oil control spray is one to try.

I personally found that I suffered with this when I wore foundation, therefore I decided to switch to a tinted moisturiser. I am someone who struggles with high shine throughout the day, I believe this is actually due to dehydration! Since switching to a tinted moisturiser my skin looks more youthful and fresher overall. There is less layers to fight with therefore allowing it breathe!



So that was just covering remedies for oxidation...what next?!

Let's talk dehydration....

One of the leading factors to over producing oil is actually due to dehydration! One of the worst things you can do is skip moisturising! You must no matter what skin type you have, moisturise day and night. This will help fight build up of oil and also fight signs of ageing! Dehydrated skin only causes early signs of ageing and fatigue and we do not want that. What more can you do? Drink water throughout the day daily, I find this difficult myself but reminding myself that it helps fight ageing....well that helps! Try adding lemons to your water to add a little zing and of course, antioxidants.


What should my skin care regime look like?

Cleanse, tone and moisturise. These are the three gospel words you should definitely live by on a daily basis. In doing so you will encourage a clearer and more glowing appearance in your skin, however introducing a facial scrub once a week will add to a smoother appearance overall. I find scrubs are overlooked yet, these are fundamental in any skin regime. Scrubs remove the dead layers of skin and allow for a clearer and smoother complexion overall, therefore enabling your makeup to look and feel great. I recommend the L'oreal age perfect cleanser and toner followed by their smooth glow facial scrub. As for moisturiser I love the OLAY day and night SPF cream. SPF should be worn everyday all year round to avoid skin damage and again early signs of ageing.



What base makeup should I use?


This is a personal preference for everyone, however the following are my recommended loves!


For full coverage: Estee Lauder 'Double Wear' I use this for evening makeup to create a flawless complexion. Additionally I use this mixed with moisturiser to create a BB cream, this works brilliantly for day use.


For a matte finish: IT cosmetics 'Matte CC+ Cream' this is an incredible products, it has high coverage and is perfect for those who suffer with high shine no matter what. Furthermore the IT cosmetics foundation range is perfect for resisting anti ageing / sun damaged skin as they have a high SPF factor 40 & 50 in their products.


For a buildable base: Mac 'Face and Body' this product is brilliant! I find this a firm favourite with brides do to its versatility. You can wear it for a sheer look or build it in layers to create fuller coverage, perfect product for summer and winter wear.


What about highlight?


This depends! Highlighting is an interesting topic, there is varied amounts of products out there to get the perfect glow but which one is best for you? If you're in your teen to mid 20's powder highlights are great as you're in your prime in regards to skin! However, when you hit late 20's on wards, you begin to show lines... we don't want to highlight those and we certainly don't want to use powder textures! In your late 20's - 30's stay away from your eye area and apply on the cheekbones and subtly on the nose. I'd recommend a cream highlight for this area. For powder highlights I recommend the hourglass 'ambient lighting palette', and for cream I also recommend the hourglass ' vanish flash highlighting stick'.


Should I set my makeup?

Yes! There is a variety of setting tips but my favorite is the setting spray. It's refreshing and can be sprayed over your makeup throughout the day! I personally think this is better than using powder, not only does powder build up your makeup but it also cakes. Setting spray adds moisture and replenishes dull tired makeup, what more can you want!


I hope you found this blog helpful and enjoyable to read! If you want anymore helpful hints and tips, please leave a comment below.


Rhiannon x

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page